If you’re looking for my skillset in relation to employment, click here to view that instead.


About this Website

This site was initially written at home on a Windows Server PC running web-based software including Apache and PHP. It is now running on top of Linux and NGINX.  Due to its size, it took around a couple of weeks to put the site together, write all the content, and get it deployed.

Currently changes are made on a Content Management System (CMS) rather than editing files, so that new content can be added extremely quickly and layout is guaranteed to be consistent across pages.


My Background

I have been programming since the age of about 7 years old; I started on a BBC Micro at school using Logotron where I experimented with loops and drawing patterns.  After a very short time I was already writing programs that utilised serial (RS232) communications and was experimenting with more advanced things.

Programming has always been a hobby of mine since an early age.  I also write software for business use when it is required.  Some notable early programs I wrote include:

  • An entire GUI (Graphical User Interface) environment for the Amstrad CPC computers.  This was written from the ground up over one year (aged 15-16).  The code was in BASIC 1.1, with some Z80 hand-assembled machine code for the faster drawing routines.
  • A graphical drawing package, which took about 6 months (aged 14-15).

I enjoy helping others and was able to get my Dad started on how to use basic tools and enough HTML to create a website showcasing my Mum’s artwork and ceramics.  The site is written from the ground up.  You can view their combined efforts on the G-Art Website.


Other Skills

I’m quite handy at DIY, and as such you can usually find me doing these things:

  • Car repairs (including engine diagnostics, of course)
  • Bicycle maintenance/repairs
  • Plumbing
  • Painting
  • Tiling
  • Almost all house or equipment repairs



I have several hobbies:

  • Bicycle rides with family or friends
  • Walks/trips out, often to new locations
  • Boomerang throwing
  • Badminton
  • Swimming
  • Table tennis
  • Bowling (I’m a bit rusty now, but I used to average 160-170 and fairly often throw over 200)


Site Resources

Page icons: IconsPedia.